V. Karazin Kharkov National University

Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge

   Kharkov National University is one of the oldest universities in Eastern Europe. It was founded in November 1804, on the initiative of the prominent educator V.N. Karazin and in accordance with the charter of Tsar Alexander I. In October 1999, by a decree of the President of Ukraine, Kharkov State University gained the status of a National University and was named in honor of its founder, V.N. Karazin.
   Today Kharkov National University is organized into 18 Schools, among them School of Mechanics and Mathematics, School of Physics and Technology, School of Radiophysics, School of Physics, School of Computer Sciences, etc. Since 1808 the University has its own Astronomical Observatory, which is one of leading astronomical centers in Ukraine involved in fundamental and applied research in the physics of the Sun, planets, asteroids, comets and satellites. Kharkov National University offers 115 major opportunities and specializations, covering the whole scope of modern and classical university education. Total University enrolment amounts to about 12,000 undergraduate and graduate students and about 400 postgraduate students. The University employs up to 1,500 faculty and research staff, including more than 200 Doctors of Sciences and Full Professors.